Theory of Knowledge: “The Intrinsic Value of Learning”


It’s very easy for adults to tell kids that they should be learning for learning’s sake. There’s nothing wrong with learning for learning’s sake, but as with anything you have to look at the “What’s in it for me?” factor. I believe there will exist for me one day an endless quest for knowledge, and that quest is a good one. However, not many people can answer that “What’s in it for me?” question with “I’m learning for learning’s sake”.

The “WIIIFM?” for me is my future. I am not learning for the sake of knowledge, I am learning to get in to university, I’m learning to be able to get a good job, I’m learning to get good grade in order to achieve all of my goals. So no, I am not learning for the sake of learning. And no, I will not be able to do this until I have graduated from any sort of learning and have a stable job and a stable life before I begin my quest for knowledge for knowledge’s sake.

It doesn’t make the quest a bad one, it just make it one that I’m not yet ready for.

 

Leave a comment